Privacy

Statement of Information Practices

The Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) is a prescribed registry in respect of BORN Ontario (Better Outcomes Registry and Network) as per section 13(1) of Ontario Regulation 329/04 - General (Regulation) under the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004 (PHIPA).

BORN Ontario has implemented a rigorous program to protect personal health information from theft, loss, unauthorized access, copying, modification, use, disclosure and disposal. BORN conducts audits and investigations to monitor and manage our privacy compliance. The registry’s information practices and procedures are approved by the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario every three years.

Collection of Personal Health Information

BORN collects personal health information from healthcare providers such as hospitals, midwives and laboratories. The personal health information collected includes:

  • Information about hospital and home births in the province, including interventions and outcomes in labour and birth
  • Results and follow-up from prenatal screening provided to pregnant women for Down Syndrome, Trisomy 18 and Neural Tube Defects
  • Information about services provided to women whose babies have suspected or confirmed birth defects
  • Newborn screening test results indicating whether a baby might be at risk for a rare but treatable disease

View a list of data elements collected in the BORN Information System.

Purpose for the use of Personal Health Information

BORN uses personal health information to ensure healthcare providers and organizations have the necessary knowledge to assess and improve the quality of services available to mothers, infants and children in Ontario.

The information is also summarized to produce reports and analyses for planning and management of the healthcare delivery system at the organizational, provincial, LHIN or other regional levels. Public reports do not contain personal health information or identify individuals; these analyses provide aggregated data only. The reports are made available online through reporting.

Limiting disclosure

BORN provides data to organizations who use it for purposes in accordance with the BORN mandate, such as boards of health, while conforming to the limiting principle that only the minimum personal health information necessary for the purpose will be provided. BORN also facilitates research on maternal and child health issues as authorized by law. BORN works with researchers who have made requests for BORN data to ensure:

  • The minimum amount of identifiable information is included
  • The appropriate agreements with researchers regarding confidentiality and security are in place
  • The work is subject to the requirements of the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004 (PHIPA), including review and approval by a Research Ethics Board

Security Safeguards

Personal health information within BORN is protected by administrative, physical and technological controls that adhere to industry best practices for security and safeguards against unauthorized accidental or intentional release of information.

Examples of these protections include state-of the-art electronic security, requirements to educate all users in their responsibilities to protect the data and report any problems, and places of business with appropriate locks and other physical controls.

Access and Correction

As a privacy best practice, if you make a request to BORN to access your own personal health information, BORN will confirm whether or not your information exists in the system and direct you to the health information custodian who was the source of the information. BORN will encourage you to contact the original healthcare provider for access to the information so you have the best information and the best opportunity to have it explained, if necessary.

Any requests to correct your personal health information should be directed to your healthcare provider.

More Information

Details of the BORN Ontario privacy policies, frequently asked questions, and other information can be found under Privacy Resources.

Individuals may obtain further information about BORN privacy policies and procedures by calling, emailing or writing to the Privacy Officer.

Complaints or concerns about BORN privacy policies and procedures may also be sent to the BORN Privacy Officer by email, phone, or in writing. Individuals are encouraged to complete a BORN Complaint Form and submit it to the Privacy Officer, who can be reached as follows: 

BORN Ontario Privacy Officer
BORN Ontario
CHEO Research Institute | Centre for Practice-Changing Research Building
401 Smyth Road, Ottawa, ON | K1H 8L1
613.737.7600 x 6038
Privacy@BORNOntario.ca

Individuals may make a complaint regarding compliance to the Personal Health Informtion Protection Act, 2004 and its regulation to the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario who can be reached as follows:

Information and Privacy Commissioner
2 Bloor Street East | Suite 1400

Toronto | ON | M4W 1A8
Phone: 416.326.3333 or 1.800.387.0073
E-mail: info@ipc.on.ca
Website: www.ipc.on.ca

Confidentialité

Énoncé sur les pratiques d’information

Le Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (CHEO) est une entité prescrite par la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé qui le charge de tenir le Registre BORN Ontario (Registre et réseau des bons résultats dès la naissance) conformément au paragraphe 13(1) du Règlement de l’Ontario 329/04 – Dispositions générales – de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé.

BORN Ontario a mis en œuvre un programme rigoureux pour protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé de tout vol, perte, accès non autorisé, copie, modification, utilisation, divulgation et élimination. Nous menons des vérifications et des enquêtes pour surveiller et pour gérer la conformité à cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels. Ces pratiques et ces procédures sur l’information du Registre sont soumises tous les trois ans à l’approbation du Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario.

Collecte des renseignements personnels sur la santé

Le Registre BORN recueille des renseignements personnels sur la santé de fournisseurs de soins tels que des hôpitaux, des sages femmes et des laboratoires. Il s’agit généralement :

  • De renseignements sur les accouchements qui ont lieu dans les hôpitaux et dans les domiciles de la province, ce qui comprend les interventions et les résultats du travail et de la naissance; 
  • Les résultats et le suivi du dépistage prénatal remis aux femmes enceintes sur le syndrome de Down, sur la trisomie 18 et sur les anomalies du tube neural;
  • L’information sur les services rendus aux femmes dont les bébés sont soupçonnés d’avoir ou ont des anomalies de naissance; 
  • Les résultats des tests de dépistage chez les nouveau nés indiquant si le bébé risque de contracter une maladie rare mais traitable.

Consultez la liste des éléments de données recueillis dans le système d’information de BORN.

Utilisation des renseignements personnels sur la santé

Le Registre BORN utilise les renseignements personnels sur la santé afin que les fournisseurs et les organismes de soins de santé possèdent les connaissances nécessaires pour évaluer et pour améliorer la qualité des services fournis aux mères, aux nouveau nés et aux enfants de l’Ontario.

On résume aussi cette information pour produire des rapports et des analyses qui servent à planifier et à gérer le système de prestation de soins de santé dans les organismes, dans les établissements provinciaux, dans les RLISS et à d’autres niveaux régionaux. Les rapports publics ne contiennent pas de renseignements personnels sur la santé et n’identifient personne; les analyses qu’ils présentent ne contiennent que des données cumulatives. Vous pouvez les consulter en ligne en cliquant sur reporting.

Limite de la divulgation

Le Registre BORN fournit des données aux organismes qui s’en servent à des fins qui correspondent à son mandat, comme des commissions d’hygiène, tout en limitant la divulgation aux données minimales nécessaires à l’objectif du requérant. Le Registre facilite aussi la recherche sur les problèmes de santé des mères et des enfants menée conformément à la Loi. BORN collabore avec les chercheurs qui font la demande de données en veillant à :

  • Ne leur remettre que le minimum de données identifiables nécessaires; 
  • Établir avec eux des ententes solides sur la protection et la sécurité des renseignements personnels;
  • Vérifier si les études qu’ils mènent sont conformes à la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé et qu’ils les ont soumises à l’examen et à l’approbation d’un conseil d’éthique de la recherche.

Mesures de sécurité

Les données personnelles sur la santé conservées dans le Registre BORN sont protégées par des mesures administratives, physiques et technologiques fondées sur les pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie en matière de sécurité et de protection contre la divulgation accidentelle ou intentionnelle non autorisée d’information.

Ces mesures de protection consistent, par exemple, en dispositifs électroniques de sécurité à la fine pointe de la technologie; nous fournissons à tous les utilisateurs une éducation obligatoire sur la responsabilité qu’ils ont de protéger les données et de signaler tous les problèmes ainsi que de munir leurs locaux de serrures adéquates et de prendre d’autres mesures de contrôle physiques.

Accès et correction

L’une des pratiques exemplaires sur la protection des renseignements personnels consiste à confirmer aux personnes qui demandent leurs propres renseignements personnels si ces renseignements se trouvent ou non dans le système. Nous aiguillons ensuite ces requérants vers l’organisme ou vers la personne qui nous a transmis ces renseignements. Nous vous encourageons à demander vos renseignements personnels avant tout au fournisseur de soins de santé initial afin que vous obteniez la meilleure information possible et que vous puissiez au besoin demander des explications.

Pour faire corriger vos renseignements personnels sur la santé, veuillez vous adresser à votre fournisseur de soins de santé.

Pour plus d’information

Vous trouverez plus de détails sur les politiques de protection des renseignements personnels de BORN Ontario, une foire aux questions et de l’information supplémentaire à Ressources sur la confidentialité.

Si vous désirez plus d’information ou si vous avez des préoccupations au sujet des pratiques de BORN, veuillez remplir ce formulaire ou communiquer avec l’agent de la protection de l’information de BORN :

Agent de la protection de l’information de BORN Ontario
BORN Ontario
Institut de recherche du CHEO | Centre de recherche et d’innovation pratique
401, ch. Smyth, Ottawa (ON) K1H 8L1
613-737-7600, poste 6038

Si vous pensez que BORN Ontario a violé vos droits, vous pouvez déposer une plainte auprès du Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario à :

Commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée
2, rue Bloor Est, bureau 1400
Toronto (ON) M4W 1A8
Téléphone : 416-326-3333 ou 1-800-387-0073
Courriel : info@ipc.on.ca
Site Web : www.ipc.on.ca